The Ice Hockey Club at the University of South Carolina was founded in 2001 by John Lipscomb and Jared Hopkins. Since then, it has grown from a team of few into a deep and talented squad. The inaugural season for the Gamecocks was highlighted by a game in Greenville, South Carolina at the Bi-Lo Center in front of thousands of fans.

Prior to the 2006-2007 season, the team joined the American Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) at the Division III level. Inclusion in the ACHA afforded the Gamecocks the opportunity to qualify for the South Regionals and the Division III National Championships.

Finally in 2008-2009, South Carolina received a Top 10 ranking, and were invited to the South Regionals. A tough draw saw the Club lose its first game to Central Florida (perennial contender), but rebound to defeat Loyola to justify its seeding. The 2008-2009 season also marked the official development of the Southeastern Collegiate Hockey Conference (SECHC), which culminated in the first SECHC Champion being crowned. South Carolina entered the tournament with a #3 overall rank, and were able to maintain this seed by defeating both LSU and Florida, after losing in a semi-final matchup with Georgia. The inaugural event saw Tennessee hoist the SECHC Championship Cup.

The relationship between the SECHC and the ACHA continues to grow. The SECHC tournament results are now a key factor in determining the final standings for the ACHA regional tournament – the gateway to Nationals.

The Gamecocks had their best performance in SECHC tournament in 2015, defeating Alabama in the semi-finals before falling to Arkansas in the championship game. Following the conclusion of the tournament, both Arkansas and Alabama were promoted to Division I.

The South Carolina Club Hockey Team continues to develop a strong tradition. Buoyed by a strong relationship at their home rink in Irmo, the Gamecocks continually receive strong support within the community. Each season, quality student athletes are recruited to represent South Carolina, aiming to compete for the National Title.